Skip to content

Skin-Deep

12/04/2009

Sometimes I even look human.
It’s an insidious thing, skin.  Shields reality from us. Where am I from?  Here.  Right here.  Doubtless I’ve confused you; be still, and let me explain. Most people (that’s you and the rest of the expedition in this case) all share common traits, ones which I have had to practice emulating to remain unnoticed.  But I could not say I understand any of you. My raising?  DON’T INSULT MY HOME.
Pardon my outburst, no need to be startled.  No no, it wasn’t my raising, for I had a sister, I think, and she turned out just like the rest of you.  Parents too, before you ask.  Plenty of hugs and presents and pats on the back.  Not spoiled though.  No, I don’t think it’s a question of raising.  You’ve no doubt heard the old expression “can’t judge a book by it’s cover?  We’re different on the inside.  I haven’t been to a doctor in over 20 years.  You’re right, it is a long time for someone my age isn’t it?  I don’t wish to have a repeat of that visit.  I’d probably spend most of the rest of my life inside a lab. X-ray?  No, I don’t think I would allow anyone to take an x-ray of me, they wouldn’t like it.  Stop asking.  You really shouldn’t get my temper up like that.  Bad for the heart, they say.  Who?  Oh, I don’t know, doctors I suppose.  It’s always doctors.  Or scientists.  The experts: them, they.  Experts?  No.  Either they don’t know even these fundamental truths or they are being uncharacteristically coy about it all, wouldn’t you agree?  I know what you’re thinking.  You are thinking if you keep me talking I won’t notice you edging that knife out of it’s case.  Yes, I saw it.  Well, at least you admit it.  It won’t do any good you know, a knife.  It might make things worse for you. My skin isn’t knife -proof.  I wasn’t planning on showing you anything too disturbing, but if you force my hand, well. Escape?  that seems unlikely doesn’t it?  Still… it is possible.  I am far from perfect, very far.  What if you did?  Who would believe you?  Well well, let me think on it, I haven’t decided yet.  That won’t do you know, I don’t have that kind of sympathy.  You saw what happened to the others. A family?  A family of what?  Oh, of course.  It was probably unwise of you to mention them.  I was sincere when I joined, the expedition.  I really meant to come here and help your group.  I didn’t mean for any of this to happen.  Went wrong?  They looked at me too closely, that’s what went wrong.  It’s probably the cold.  It always does this.  Shrinks the skin enough to notice.  Sympathy?  For me?  No, that doesn’t happen.  I wouldn’t allow it, even if it was within their capacity.  You see? There is no connection between you and I.  Or with anyone else, for that matter.  What?  Now that is an interesting question.  No, we will not go into that now.  It’s enough for you to know that I have no connection with any of you.  As a matter of fact, it is time to bring this interview to an end.  No, you’ll stay here.  With them.

What was that? What kind of monster? I told you once.
Sometimes, I even look human.

From → Fiction

2 Comments
  1. I am loving these. Great voice.

Leave a Reply

